Using essential metrics and tools in your marketing strategy is a must to fully understand and analyze your customers. In this article, you will get introduced to one of the most important metrics for your e-commerce business.
Average Revenue Per User (ARPC) is a formula that will help you know the trends during different time periods and choose the right segments of customers.
Know everything you need about ARPU, what it is, why it is important for your business, how to calculate it, and more in the following article.
Table of content:
Average revenue per user (ARPU) indicates the average amount of revenue generated from each customer or subscriber. ARPU equals the total revenue divided by the number of users or subscribers. More importantly, ARPU is one of the most efficient and important eCommerce metrics.
During analysis, it is useful to compare the ARPU numbers of your brand to your competitors in the same industry.
ARPU can be reviewed as the customers' responses to your company's various pricings and offerings.
First things first, in order to calculate ARPU accurately, you have to define a specific time period. Most eCommerce business companies calculate their ARPU on a monthly basis. Then the total revenue generated during the previously specified time is then divided by the total number of users. Of course, the number of users fluctuates, especially in industries such as media and telecommunications. Hence, the number of users is usually estimated during the specified time in order to reach the most accurate ARPU.
ARPU Formula = The revenue generated in a specific time period / the number of users in that same time period.
Here is the number you have to include in the total revenue:
An example of the ARPU Formula:
Total revenue $500,000 per month
Total Users/Buyers: 500
ARPU = 500,000/500 = 1,000$ per month
ARPU is super useful for:
ARPU is pretty important in complementing the cost of media metrics such as cost per install (CPI), or cost per action (CPA). Comparing them helps you know if you are spending your budget wisely.
The standard for average ARPU varies according to location, industry, and pricing model. ARPU can widely differ from one industry to another.
Hence, identifying a “good” average ARPU for your business needs good research and competitors’ analysis. Moreover, you need to fully understand the industry you are working in to calculate the benchmark ARPU for your industry and aim toward that.
For Example:
To have a ‘good’ ARPU you need to consider the number of returning visitors to your eCommerce website, the average cost of an item, conversion rates, and Average Order Value (AOV). Returning visitors spend 67% more than new ones on your products according to CMO by Adobe.
Maximize your eCommerce earnings by pushing your ARPU higher. Increasing ARPU means that you are getting more of the right target audience and offering them the exact products or services they're interested in. Follow the upcoming tips and tricks to double your ROI:
Read more about 12 Ways to Increase and Optimize Average Revenue Per User
Considering your Average Revenue Per User is considered the beginning in setting benchmarks and KPIs for your business on a monthly basis. This can help you explore new ways to get the most out of your customers.
You can do this by focusing on a combination of metrics like LTV and ARPU for your customer cohorts. You can also test new pricing for bundles or special offers for a period of time.
Studying your customers’ data and their behaviors can help you create the right promotions for them. For example: if you own a chocolate brand, knowing what your loyal customers always purchase will help you create a holiday bundle with their special flavors at a special price.
Then, it's all about letting your campaign boom on your social media, email, and whatever engagement methods work for you.
Testing out new promotions and pricing strategies for your strongest products and most loyal customers, will help you have strong ARPU data to assist you in setting benchmarks for any given period of time - monthly, quarterly, or yearly.
Fact: Did you know that The world's top three social media sites in terms of ARPU are, in order, TikTok, Facebook, and LinkedIn?
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